Key West driving

A return trip to Florida is getting close: all the way to Key West. I think the route down through the Keys should be known as the “Heming-Way,” but my affinity for the bad pun probably means that I’m the only one that thinks that so I probably shouldn’t mention it too often.

Never been to any of the Keys, so I am pretty psyched including the following activities in my psych-ness:

  • reading up on Hemingway’s life— mostly I am relying on 2011’s big Hemingway book titled Hemingway’s Boat: Everything He Loved in Life and Lost, by terrific writer Paul Hendrickson. It details EH’s acquisition and use of PILAR the beautiful fishing powerboat that he piloted in and around Cuba and the Keys for over twenty years. But also so much more, including his relationships with his wives, children and various girlfriends, publishing friends, and other writers and celebrities of the times. It’s the first book I’ve ever read about Hemingway, so my knowledge base is pretty feeble, and I learned a lot. Planning to re-read on the trip.
  • reading some Hemingway stories–I have his stories in the form of, The Complete Short Stories of Ernest Hemingway: The Finca Vigia Edition. (Finca Vigia being their home estate in Cuba) I started with “Big Two-Hearted River” and “The Killers,” and now I’m working my way through as many as I can.
  • looking at maps and guidebooks–and I may even bring one along on the trip, if I can remember to pack it this time!
  • making sure there is oil in the car–we’re driving all the way down in one car, along with spouse’s brother and his wife. I’ve decided that it’s one way of doubling MPG of the vehicle you’re driving, and that is to share the vehicle with more people. My first drive to Florida I was all by myself in a VW Jetta, and I got about 34 MPG I think. Then Carol and I drove together in my C280 and got about 27 MPG (actual) which worked out to 54 MPG once you figure that both of you are getting MPGs together in the same car. With four of us, we should be over 100 MPG without too much effort.
Leave a Reply

